The question of the hour is: would you ever really want to know what someone else is thinking? Sure, it would be helpful at certain times, but for the most part, I’m pretty sure my popularity score would go waaay down. In my line of work, I am forced to lie all the time. If my co-workers knew my thoughts, I’d have to carry a big stick to work. Everyone lies (thanks House) but knowing what the guy on the treadmill next to me is REALLY thinking about my ass, could upset me.

Reading minds would really be helpful when it comes to Dr. Big. Dr. Big has some emotional/verbal disabilities. He is super sweet, but he is physically unable to vocalize his emotions. Now, I am not a big “feelings” person either. I get more emotional over a tv show than I do over situations in the 3-D world. I’m not big into sharing and doing some of the crazy girl crap that you see in movies (I’m looking at you, Katherine Hiegl.) However, you do reach a certain point in a relationship that certain things should be discussed. He is not capable of having those discussions, so this is where the mind-reading thing would come in hand. I would need 10 minutes. 10 seems like a good number. Of course, I would have to spend at least 6 of those 10 minutes sifting through the sports facts, boobs, sex and Halo game rules. 4 minutes would be all I’d need to know his inner-workings.

On the other hand, there are certain people I can read like a book- no mind reading necessary. My mom and I are pretty much on the same page. We don’t even need to talk. A look will suffice. I also have a handful of close friends that I can do that with also. But every once in awhile, you have to tell a white lie. No one can get around it. If you can tell me about someone who never lies, I have some ocean front property to sell you.

Bottom line is that even though I would love to know what certain people are thinking at certain times, its probably better for my ego if I don’t know. Perhaps it is all for the best to be left in the dark.

 

